Reply
Revered Voyager
sallor225
Posts: 2,166
Registered: ‎29-04-2011
Location: US

Re: No GPS signal

I thnk TomTom support had to be extremely overwhelmed by this problem. First to find a fix; and the emails keep coming; then when the fix is in  it doesn't work for everyone, or they are not doing something right. It has taken me a lot of time just going through all the posts on this thread to clean up my email.

 

My XXL 540 was not affected by this problem, so I am lucky. However, I have found that once you have lost a gps fix, it does sometimes take a while to reestablish. In my case, before I planned a route; no satelite fix,  when I planned a route, especially from a POI near to my location the process  was immediate.

Help others identify useful content:
- Did someone answer your question? Click Accept as Solution
- Did someone post something helpful? Click the kudos star .....

TomTom XXL 540TM Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN traffic
Message 1031 of 1,978 (2,384 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Traveler
Sjohnson20
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
Location: US

Re: No GPS signal

I rebooted until I heard the drums and that fixed it! This is a via 1530. Im in the US. It didn't work until I heard the drums.
Message 1032 of 1,978 (2,359 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Traveler
Mikestomtompos
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Location: US

Re: No GPS signal

Still doesn't work. I've run the update, reset the device at least a dozen times, and had it sitting in an open yard with no obstructions and clear skies for more than 2 hours. Help!!! This died on me last weekend while trying to navigate a large city in a foreign country. If anyone knows a solution or of a class action lawsuit, please let me know.

Message 1033 of 1,978 (2,454 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Traveler
Mikestomtompos
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Location: US

Re: No GPS signal

I finally got it to work. Thanks to the one post that says you must hold the power button down a long time. I had to hold the button to turn it off for 2 minutes until the drum beats sounded. Yes, 2 minutes of holding a button for the reset to take hold.

Message 1034 of 1,978 (2,451 Views)
Please use plain text.
New Traveler
Rick59
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Location: US

Re: No GPS signal

Has anyone from TomTom actually tried the software update from teh MyTomTom site.  I have repeatedly loged onto the site and it tells me no updates available and that my navigation device is up to date.  I have powered my TomTom 1530/1535 multiple times and still getting the searching for GPS signal.  Please would somebody from tomtom email me with what really needs to be done!!!!!   You have a major problem and very poor fix.

Message 1035 of 1,978 (2,450 Views)
Please use plain text.
Zsolt
Posts: 20,518
Kudos: 2,291
Solutions: 537
Registered: ‎16-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No GPS signal

@Rick59: Which software version do you have on your unit? Have you tried to empty the cache in the MyTomTom application's settings menu? Try with Google Chrome or Firefox.

Tip: Help others identify useful content by clicking the kudos thumbs, and by selecting the best answer to your question as the accepted solution


Report map errors (MSR Tool - link)
Actual devices: GO 820 Top Gear Edition, GO 825, Start 60, One XL, GO 600, GO 1000, VIA 120, VIA 135, TomTom Android; Old devices: TomTom WM, GO 530, XL IQ Routes LIVE
How to contact TomTom's Customer Services (link)
TomTom's Customer Services numbers (thx Niall) (link)
How to soft reset your device (link)


I am NOT a TomTom employee, just a user like others.
Message 1036 of 1,978 (2,436 Views)
Please use plain text.
Revered Voyager
Revered Voyager
mvl
Posts: 1,725
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
Location: US

Re: No GPS signal

The instructions at the beginning of this thread say to install app 11.036, then do a drumroll reboot.

 

 

I found this isn't entirely sufficient to fix the GPS issue.

 

You need to:

1) install app 11.036

2) go somewhere with a clear view of the sky

3) do a drumroll reboot with a clear view of the sky

4) wait for GPS connection

 

If you do a drumroll reboot indoors so that the device doesn't get GPS signal, the bug doens't seem to be repaired.

mvl

----------------------------------------------------------------

I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. I am a Tomtom customer, not an employee.
Message 1037 of 1,978 (2,434 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
The_E
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎20-02-2012

Re: No GPS signal

For those that are having trouble connecting, retreiving and installing update; try the following:


- Turn off TomTom

- Press and hold the Power button until you hear the drum roll (reset device)

- Clear cache in MyTomTom

- Connect device to computer, sign in / Log in.

- Update should download to computer and install on device

- After install, turn off TomTom device

- Head outside to a clear line of sight for optimum GPS signal availability

- Press and hold Power button until you hear the drum roll (reset device)

- GPS lock should happen within 5 minutes maximum.

- If GPS Lock fails after 5 minutes, reset device again.

 

This worked for me. Actually, when I initially downloaded the update it crashed my mac.... just *poof*... total crash, Safari overload. Restarted mac, cleared cache and followed the steps above. Worked like a hot-**bleep**.

I hope this helps those stuck.

Best of Luck!

Message 1038 of 1,978 (2,427 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
startz2000
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Location: US

Re: No GPS signal

I read on here yesterday a post by someone that said to do a hard reset.......hold the power button down until it goes to a black screen with white writing on it, leave it on that screen for 5 minutes.  This worked for me.  I had done the soft reset severl times only to find that it only worked for a minute or two and sometimes not at all and if it did work for any amount of time and you turned the power off,  I had the same problem next time I turned it on.  Ever since I did the hard reset mine seems to be ok, locked in on 7 satellites and my husband took it to Nashville, Tn yester (300 miles) and he said it worked fine.  Even with this it may take up to 5 minutes to get a signal but mine seems to be coming up in about a minute or so.

 

 

Message 1039 of 1,978 (2,404 Views)
Please use plain text.
New Traveler
miniroea
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No GPS signal

Updated, restarted (6 times) still no valid GPS signal, what do I do now?

Message 1040 of 1,978 (2,374 Views)
Please use plain text.