Reply
Community Manager
Ditte
Posts: 1,855
Registered: ‎07-06-2011
Location: Netherlands

No GPS signal

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

 

Since Saturday 31st March some devices have been having issues getting a GPS signal.  

 

We have identified the root cause of the issue which has caused some of our GPS models to not get a GPS position.  The issue is caused by a ‘leap year’ bug in our GPS firmware.  

 

Please see this FAQ on how to get the GPS signal restored.

 

Update 5th April: 

The installation process has been simplified. MyTomTom will now automatically start the update when you connect your device to your computer. 

 

Update 6th April 19:50 CET: 

A new update has been released (v11.037) which further simplifies the process. 

 

Additional tips:

  • Check that the latest 11.037 application version has been installed to your device.
  • If version 11.037 isn't on your device, try clearing the cache in MyTomTom and redownload.
  • To clear the cache click on the TomTom icon in the lower-right corner of your computer screen to open the MyTomTom support application. Then click Settings, select the Cache tab, click Empty the cache and finally click Save settings.
  • If you have been unable to get the software update using Internet Explorer, you might want to try another browser, such as Firefox or Chrome. You can also try using Internet Explorer in compatibility mode.
  • If you have version 11.037 of the application installed, and still have no GPS signal, manually reset the device until you hear the drum sound and check the connection outdoors.

 

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

 

Thank you for your attention. :smileyhappy:

 

-Ditte

___________________________
Help others identify useful content:
- Did someone answer your question? Click Accept as Solution
- Did someone post something helpful? Click the kudos button

Need help with your TomTom device?
Add details about the TomTom device to your post: Device name, Application- and Map version.
Message 1 of 1,978 (154,754 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
solebreaker
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
Location: US

Re: No GPS signal

my tomtom1535 doesnt work.! help!

Message 2 of 1,978 (154,698 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
Marco66
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
Location: Italy

Re: No GPS signal

Hello
Im living in Italy and i have the same problem!
I have updated my go live 1000 whit last update on march and no detected signal GPS have try whit reset and get signal and when turn off and turn on again the signal was no detect again :smileysad:
Is a bug of the last update of appliacation?
thanks
Message 3 of 1,978 (154,631 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
fishy0208
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No GPS signal

[ Edited ]

Ditte
It maybe worth just adding how to send the units info if the device will connect. My device (120live -) will not locate a signal but yet will connect to TomTom home. However will not update and informs me that 'something went wrong'. I am unsure as to when this started but can only imagine that it is in the bracket of 31st March.
Thank you for your time

 

Serial number: FM2500H01551 (0)17.7)

App 11.035.890538.74 (0) (3010, 21/3/2012), OS 824205

GPS 2. 16.201 88313 , Boot 569469

Map: 'United_Kingdom_and_Republic_of_ireland' v865.3243

Release date: 1/2011

Language: English UK

Start of issue: Unsure exactly but certainly no signal on 31st March

Last action: Dowloaded new map, Application, Speed Cameras etc. Soft reset has not worked, Completed all updates.

If your device connects to TomTom HOME, you can send the system information. (Unsure how to..!)

Message 4 of 1,978 (154,597 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
norfolkgal
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No GPS signal

Hi

I bought my Tomtom 1000EU  new yesterday, and had this problem from the start.  I was not best pleased!  The restart does the trick but that's really not good enough.  I trust this issue will be sorted out soon otherwise it may be going back to the shop.

Message 5 of 1,978 (154,581 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Explorer
Sixes
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Location: Australia

Re: No GPS signal

[ Edited ]

Tomtom VIA 220 (Australia) Model 4EN42Z1230

Map version 8.85

 

Start of issue: 31 Mar 12. Purchased new, removed from the box, turned on and it worked fine. Drove home, installed latest updates (Tomtom 3.1.0.530). After update, went outside and could not get any signal. Reset the unit (drum beat) and it worked fine.

 

Powered it off, then on again and it will not pick up anything (waiting for a valid GPS signal)

 

Seems like a software glitch on Tomtoms end

Message 6 of 1,978 (154,561 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Traveler
jayvee
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No GPS signal

Same problem here.

 

Tom Tom Start 20 Model No 4EN42 Z1230 DSerial No AP5161G01674
Device AP5161G01674 (0) 10.5

App 11.035.890538.74 (0) (3010,21/3/2012), OS 8234205
GPS 2.16.201 88313, Boot 642776

MAP Europe v875.3611 Release date 7/2011

Living in UK

 

Start of issue – 31/03/2012

Last Action – Connected to MyTomTom, installed “25 new updates”. Issue not resolved by updates.

 

Message 7 of 1,978 (154,558 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
cyberhose
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎31-03-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No GPS signal

directly after the (auto) update to app 11.035.890538.74 (0) 3010, 21/3/2012), os 824205

Really stuffed me up as had loaded lovcations for my wife to support me while doing the Paris Roubaix.

Do you guys user test your new releases?

It looks like in future we should not updrade software that is already working on the pretence of getting some new functionality

Please do allow the option for rollback to previous versions...at least we dont end up with a useless device...

 

soft reset does not fix the problem...

 

re golive 1005

sa3480k04456 (0) (12.0)

Message 8 of 1,978 (154,541 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
MiguelMX
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
Location: Mexico

Re: No GPS signal

I'm in the middle of a trip, and i don't know this city. My tomtom Via 1535 isn't working (recent update to 11.035)

It's there a fix?

Message 9 of 1,978 (154,537 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
parfz61
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
Location: Australia

Re: No GPS signal

My Tomtom Live 1005 stopped picking up gps on Sunday 1 April. It stuttered a cpl of times throughout today ( Monday 2 ), enough to get a brief location of where I was, but only for a cpl of seconds. Still no gps signal. Have even resorted to factory reset but this hasnt fixed the problem. Annoying " much " !!!

Message 10 of 1,978 (154,527 Views)
Please use plain text.