Reply
saj
Master Explorer
saj
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
Location: United Kingdom
Accepted Solution

Full digit postcode search not working

this doesnt  work on the tom tom go710

 

http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9852/kw/postcode

 

Followed the guide and someone clearly hasnt tested this on extracting the content there isnt any zip file also tried copying the contents to the tom tom root replacing existing files this hasnt made a difference and neither has copying the zip to the root.

 

I've tried contacting tom tom previously have given up can anybody help or advise further

 

thanks

Message 1 of 48 (9,995 Views)
Please use plain text.
Founding Member
hope68
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎25-02-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Full digit postcode search not working

Hi,

 

seems there's the initial folder "zip" missing

 

Just create a folder called "zip" and copy&paste the files for the UK and NL into this folder. Then copy&paste the whole folder on to your device and it should work.

 

cu Peter

_______________________________________________________________________
pocketnavigation.de - the biggest German speaking forum when it comes to navigation.

Unless you use a Navcore10 device, please make a back-up of your device before any changes!!!

All information given in good faith, but without guarantee! ;-) ....
Message 2 of 48 (9,977 Views)
Please use plain text.
saj
Master Explorer
saj
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Full digit postcode search not working

followed your advice still not working also followed the kb article

 

http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9852/kw/postcode

 

any further suggestions or advice this functionality worked fine before i downloaded an update which messed up my maps forcing me to buy new maps nobody at tom tom took responsibilty unfair not only did i lose my maps and i was forced to pay for new maps and lost the functionoality of searching for postcopdes other devices offer.

Message 3 of 48 (9,784 Views)
Please use plain text.
Founding Member
hope68
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎25-02-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Full digit postcode search not working

What FW are you using? That can be find via "Status and information"

 

cu Peter

_______________________________________________________________________
pocketnavigation.de - the biggest German speaking forum when it comes to navigation.

Unless you use a Navcore10 device, please make a back-up of your device before any changes!!!

All information given in good faith, but without guarantee! ;-) ....
Message 4 of 48 (9,782 Views)
Please use plain text.
saj
Master Explorer
saj
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Full digit postcode search not working

[ Edited ]

im using tom tom GO 710 or 720 one of the two

Message 5 of 48 (9,765 Views)
Please use plain text.
saj
Master Explorer
saj
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Full digit postcode search not working

ISSUE NOW FIXED COURTESEY OF PHYSCOTIC MONKEY

 

To fix issue follow these steps

 

If you suffer from the same problem as I did then the solution can be found at http://www.tomtom.com/updates/great_britainpostal_all.zip. All you need to do is download the file and unzip it. Remove the SD card from your TomTom and insert it into a card reader, then run the setup.exe file that you’ve just unzipped. Follow the instructions on-screen and tell the program to update the memory card. Once the installation is done, pop the memory card back into your TomTom and you’re away. Full postcode searching goodness is now your to enjoy. Now you’ve got no excuse when you end up on the wrong street…

 

 

Can someone at tom tom update their fixes to include this and pay the monkey for his knowledge of your software.

Message 6 of 48 (9,740 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
Sidan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎19-07-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Full digit postcode search not working

Do you have a similar solution for an Apple Mac?  Thanks

Gerda

Message 7 of 48 (8,960 Views)
Please use plain text.
Elite Voyager
Elite Voyager
dhn
Posts: 10,904
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: Full digit postcode search not working

Use Stuffit for a Mac and extract the postal code files in the zip file to a FOLDER on your unit called zip.

-------------------------------------------
I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. .....I am not a TomTom employee.
Message 8 of 48 (8,957 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
Sidan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎19-07-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Full digit postcode search not working

Thank you for your reply.  Tried that but still not working, Tomtom suggested a very complicated way of resetting the device and then downloading and installing again.  Not sure I should do that.

Message 9 of 48 (8,874 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
Glynn
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎18-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Full digit postcode search not working

Hi, can anyone help, my TomTom 1 won't recognize the second half of any post code, which means I can't get an accurate result. Thanks

 

Message 10 of 48 (8,349 Views)
Please use plain text.