Reply
Novice Explorer
R-Isaac
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎13-05-2012
Location: Australia
Accepted Solution

Unable to get an old go 720 to start after an update ...

Have an old Go 720  just updated it by connecting to PC - now unable to get it to start any help would be appreciated ...

Message 1 of 17 (2,033 Views)
Please use plain text.
Supreme Trailblazer
albertochc
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎15-04-2012

Re: Unable to get an old go 720 to start after an update ...

Have you before updating make a backup of TT720? Make a restore. If you have the old map on the PC you can format the TT then connect to tomtom home then TThome will update the device and you should copy your map on the device. 

TomTom 1005 Ape 12.055 GPS 2.18.903 127792
Map 9.0
Message 2 of 17 (2,031 Views)
Please use plain text.
YamFazMan
Posts: 4,795
Registered: ‎27-05-2011

Re: Unable to get an old go 720 to start after an update ...

Hi

 

And welcome to the site

 

But you are in the wrong forum  :-

 

For your unit its the forum titled GO x00 / x10 / x20 / x30 / x40 / x50 (HOME)

 

ATB YFM

Help others identify useful content :-

- If someone posted something that was helpful? Click the Kudos button.
- If someone answered your question? Click Accept as Solution.
Also have you tried clicking on the Suport Button.PNG button at the top of the forum page ??? 
World phone numbers to contact Customer support :- Phone-numbers.
Other ways to contact TomTom Support :- How-to-Contact-support.

Message 3 of 17 (2,020 Views)
Please use plain text.
Zsolt
Posts: 20,772
Kudos: 2,333
Solutions: 541
Registered: ‎16-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Unable to get an old go 720 to start after an update ...

@R-Isaac: How is it not starting up? Not at all, or starts, but freezes, or anything else? Have you tried to press the reset button?

Tip: Help others identify useful content by clicking the kudos thumbs, and by selecting the best answer to your question as the accepted solution


Report map errors (MSR Tool - link)
Actual devices: GO 820 Top Gear Edition, GO 825, Start 60, One XL, GO 600, GO 1000, VIA 120, VIA 135, TomTom Android; Old devices: TomTom WM, GO 530, XL IQ Routes LIVE
How to contact TomTom's Customer Services (link)
TomTom's Customer Services numbers (thx Niall) (link)
How to soft reset your device (link)


I am NOT a TomTom employee, just a user like others.
Message 4 of 17 (2,012 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
R-Isaac
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎13-05-2012
Location: Australia

Re: Unable to get an old go 720 to start after an update ...

Thanks for the prompt response.  Yes i've used the reset button and got it started.  The problem that i now have is that i cant get 3D maps 2D maps work ok.  How do i proceed from here?  Who do i get 3D to work?  Thanks...

Message 5 of 17 (1,973 Views)
Please use plain text.
Elite Voyager
Elite Voyager
dhn
Posts: 11,890
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: Unable to get an old go 720 to start after an update ...

Tap the bottom left on the status bar to switch betweed 2D and 3D.

-------------------------------------------
I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. .....I am not a TomTom employee.
Message 6 of 17 (1,967 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
R-Isaac
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎13-05-2012
Location: Australia

Re: Unable to get an old go 720 to start after an update ...

Thanks for the help.   The problem i'm having is that when i switch to 3D there is no maps i get a blue screen with the directions arrow on it and the voice keeps guides me to turn left or right etc. But no 3D image i.e. map.  Do i have to download the 3D maps separately? If so how?  Thanks.

Message 7 of 17 (1,958 Views)
Please use plain text.
Elite Voyager
Elite Voyager
dhn
Posts: 11,890
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: Unable to get an old go 720 to start after an update ...

No, you needn't download a separate 3D map at all..

 

If you are hearing directions, are you in the midst of a route that has been selected? Can you cancel the route and see what happens?

-------------------------------------------
I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. .....I am not a TomTom employee.
Message 8 of 17 (1,955 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
R-Isaac
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎13-05-2012
Location: Australia

Re: Unable to get an old go 720 to start after an update ...

Thanks - Yes in the middle of a route I've selected; still blue screen with turn direction (arrow) on the screen and the verbal instructions, but no 3D map.  When i cancel it takes me back to the menu system.  When i flip to the 2D view all work fine. Any idea on how to fix this?

Message 9 of 17 (1,946 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
R-Isaac
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎13-05-2012
Location: Australia

Re: Unable to get an old go 720 to start after an update ...

Well it look like we're all baffled.

 Any one knows how i can force the  device to go through the (software/firmware update) from scratch?  Perhaps that will solve my problem.   It beginning to look like new tomtom software/firmware is not fully compatible with their older devices.

Message 10 of 17 (1,927 Views)
Please use plain text.