Reply
Master Traveler
xavierdjx
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Location: Belgium
Accepted Solution

tomtom via 120 - freeze and restart after update

hi,

 

Everything is in the title...I just made a software update of my tomtom Via 120 because I need to travel tomorrow. Everything was ok during the update, but now, my gps freeze after some minutes and restart ... again and again... 

 

thank's for helping me. I tried to restore default parameters, but it doesn't work....   :-(

 

thx

Message 1 of 10 (1,195 Views)
Please use plain text.
Prominent Wayfarer
BSB
Posts: 586
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Location: Canada

Re: tomtom via 120 - freeze and restart after update

Have you done a full reset yet (hold down power button till the drum roll)

You may have to then do a regular power down and normal power up ?

 

Message 2 of 10 (1,188 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
xavierdjx
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Location: Belgium

Re: tomtom via 120 - freeze and restart after update

Thank's for help... Everything is OK now... :smileywink:

 

I have re-install mytomtom on my computer

I have reinstall 3 times the launch parameters in the GPS and... then I reconnect it to the PC...

 

Hope this could help other persons !

 

 

Message 3 of 10 (1,177 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
mentalpostie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: tomtom via 120 - freeze and restart after update

i'm having the same problem, connected my tomtom via 120 to my computer and told there was an update, so i updated the unit and now it just starts hangs, then restarts it's self and i can't seem to rectify it, i've tried to re install home but it's still doing it

Message 4 of 10 (1,165 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
mentalpostie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: tomtom via 120 - freeze and restart after update

well i did a full factory reset and now everything seems to be ok, very strange

Message 5 of 10 (1,161 Views)
Please use plain text.
Prominent Wayfarer
callwatchdog
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎14-07-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: tomtom via 120 - freeze and restart after update


mentalpostie wrote:

i'm having the same problem, connected my tomtom via 120 to my computer and told there was an update, so i updated the unit and now it just starts hangs, then restarts it's self and i can't seem to rectify it, i've tried to re install home but it's still doing it



Anyone would think that tomtom have released code before its ready.

Obviously that can't be correct - no company with this amount of bad press would do that again.

-----------------------------------------------------------
Signature removed at request of tomtom
-----------------------------------------------------------
Message 6 of 10 (1,159 Views)
Please use plain text.
Prominent Wayfarer
BSB
Posts: 586
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Location: Canada

Re: tomtom via 120 - freeze and restart after update

Hi Watchdog

 

IMHO they released a package of MINOR updates to try and placate people.

 

All the things I can see so far are the "Nice but no cigar" bits "Fluff" if you will.

Like you i await news or release of the "guts and glory" updates "the "meat and potatoe" additions

 

Oh and of course the main bits they advertise on both the web site and on the box.

Message 7 of 10 (1,147 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
xavierdjx
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Location: Belgium

Re: tomtom via 120 - freeze and restart after update

What the Hell !!! I just made the new update and my tomtom is going wrong again !!! Now he freezes and the I have a grey screen on the map, just before he restarts... 

Message 8 of 10 (917 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Explorer
Bbloony
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-01-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: tomtom via 120 - freeze and restart after update

Mine was doing the same, I contacted technical support who was as much use as a chocolate tea pot ! They just told me to hold the on/off button to reset it 2 or3 times but that didn't work, thy also suggested that I charge it for 2hrs before turning it on again ! But that didn't work but If you can manage to get to the setting before it freezes on you do a factory restore, mines working fine now
Message 9 of 10 (909 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
xavierdjx
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Location: Belgium

Re: tomtom via 120 - freeze and restart after update

yep that's the right answer... I just loose one hour of life trying to hard reset, but resetting to factory settings in the setting menu, is just enough ;-) 

 

Thx for reply !

Message 10 of 10 (906 Views)
Please use plain text.