Reply
Novice Explorer
beach
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎21-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

network rail access points

Hi, i have just got a via 110 and want to put networkrail access points on as my P.O.I as i do on my One XL. Anyone no how or this Via is of no use to me.

Thanks

Message 1 of 8 (2,749 Views)
Please use plain text.
Stefan
Posts: 4,949
Kudos: 1,043
Solutions: 222
Registered: ‎06-03-2011

Re: network rail access points

Copy the poi file from the ONE XL

 

  • Connect the device to the computer;
  • Go to 'my computer';
  • Open the hard drive of the navigation device;
  • Open the folder which has the name of the installed map;
  • Right click on the Poi file and select 'copy';
  • Copy the Poi file to a folder onto the desktop or where you can easily find it back

Upload the poi file to the TomTom Via

 

Please read the following article:

 

Third party poi's (TomTom Knowledge Base) hyperlink

 

Get a warning on the device when being near a network rail access point

 

  • Tap on the navigation screen;
  • Tap on 'settings';
  • Tap on the right arrow twice;
  • Tap on 'manage poi's';
  • Tap on 'warn nearby poi';
  • Tap on the poi name, follow on screen instructions to set a warning sound;

Add more warning sounds to the device

 

Warning sounds have a *.ogg or *.wav extension, can be spoken or instrumental. Recommended length: a few seconds.

 

Please read the following article:

 

Upload warning sounds to the device

Message 2 of 8 (2,746 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
beach
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎21-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: network rail access points

I have them on desktop but cant get them on Via!

Message 3 of 8 (2,739 Views)
Please use plain text.
Stefan
Posts: 4,949
Kudos: 1,043
Solutions: 222
Registered: ‎06-03-2011

Re: network rail access points

Read the following article for detailed instructions to upload the poi to the Via:

 

Third party poi's (TomTom Knowledge Base) hyperlink

Message 4 of 8 (2,737 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
beach
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎21-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: network rail access points

I have the icon loaded, so there were 2 files. 1 icon and other access places. it does say there in there but not showing on map. i will keep trying lol

Message 5 of 8 (2,734 Views)
Please use plain text.
Stefan
Posts: 4,949
Kudos: 1,043
Solutions: 222
Registered: ‎06-03-2011

Re: network rail access points

When uploaded the file to the device, then it should be listed in the poi categories:

 

  • Tap on the navigation screen;
  • Tap on 'settings';
  • Tap the right arrow twice;
  • Tap on 'display poi on map';
  • Scroll through the poi categories, select the uploaded poi file to display it on the map;
  • Tap 'next';
  • Tap 'ok';

Add a warning sound for the poi:

 

  • Tap 'manage poi's';
  • Tap 'warn near poi';
  • Select the poi file from the list;
  • Follow on screen instructions to set a warning sound;
Message 6 of 8 (2,725 Views)
Please use plain text.
New Traveler
jafus
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎25-05-2014
Location: United Kingdom

Re: network rail access points

Pls  what web site can I downloaded network railway access points

Message 7 of 8 (126 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Explorer
notmeatall2
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎28-09-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: network rail access points

I find it best geting 3rd party from pocketgpsworld 

 

Sign up (it's free) then goto the "Free Download" Menu and click on the "Download FREE POIs" 

I can't find an exact entry for Network Rail Access Points but there are lots of entries for various transport solutions.

 

Open "Transport" in the list you will see

  • Croydon Tram Link Stop
  • Glasgow SPT Subway
  • London Underground and DLR
  • Manchester Metrolink
  • Midland Metro
  • Newcastle Metro
  • Nottingham Express Tams
  • Supertram Station Sheffield
  • Swansea Metro
  • Train Stations

Select the ones you want
Select "Combine subcategories into category file"

Select "Show Link"
Click "Download"

Click "Download POI.zip"

 

You might want to look for a better icon. (The ones at pocketgps are a not brilliant)

Hunt around these many sites for the one you want

Copy the .OVI file from the file you got from pocketgps and the icon .bmp you want.

 

Rename them both with the same name (i.e.) Rail_link.OVI & Rail_link.bmp

 

Put them on your tomtom Job Done :smileyhappy:

 

Perhaps if beach feels generous he will upload his POI to pocketgps??

TOMTOM GO LIVE 1005 HDT&M Europe
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
Chrome Ver 34.0.1847.131 m
Message 8 of 8 (119 Views)
Please use plain text.