Reply
Master Traveler
tpietrzak
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Location: US

Via 1535 TM - Micro SD Card Questions.

A couple of quick questions.  1) What can that card be used for?  2) What are the acceptable specs for that card (ie capacity, etc)

 

Tom

Message 1 of 33 (5,722 Views)
Please use plain text.
Zsolt
Posts: 20,568
Kudos: 2,304
Solutions: 537
Registered: ‎16-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Via 1535 TM - Micro SD Card Questions.

1., Additional maps
2., SD or SDHC. Tried 8GB, worked fine. Bigger than that...almost pointless at the moment.

Tip: Help others identify useful content by clicking the kudos thumbs, and by selecting the best answer to your question as the accepted solution


Report map errors (MSR Tool - link)
Actual devices: GO 820 Top Gear Edition, GO 825, Start 60, One XL, GO 600, GO 1000, VIA 120, VIA 135, TomTom Android; Old devices: TomTom WM, GO 530, XL IQ Routes LIVE
How to contact TomTom's Customer Services (link)
TomTom's Customer Services numbers (thx Niall) (link)
How to soft reset your device (link)


I am NOT a TomTom employee, just a user like others.
Message 2 of 33 (5,715 Views)
Please use plain text.
Lupus1
Posts: 5,478
Topics: 21
Kudos: 1,596
Solutions: 320
Registered: ‎21-09-2011
Location: Germany

Re: Via 1535 TM - Micro SD Card Questions.

Hi,

 

the cards can be used for any additional content not fitting onto the internal memory.

 

You'll be able to use microSD cards with up to 32GB capacity. Please use at least Class6 cards.

 

The memory cards will extend the internal memory.

 

 

Regards

Lars.

____________________________________________________

TT XL•S LIVE IQ Routes Edition (Text-to-Speech)
map/Europe_North 875.3613
TT Start 60
map/Europe 910.4964
TT GO 6000
map/Europe 926.5515

TT Runner Cardio watch

TT Home 2.9.7.3256
MyDrive Connect 3.3.0.1317
MySports Connect 1.3.9
Win8 64bit


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm no TT employee but just a customer trying to help
Message 3 of 33 (5,705 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
pfjohns
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎15-03-2012
Location: US

Re: Via 1535 TM - Micro SD Card Questions.

Hi listers: I'm a new TT 1535 TM owner, having had a One XLS for a few years as well. I don't see anywhere on the 1535 TM to add a  flash memory card...Can someone advise on that? Thanks!

Message 4 of 33 (5,652 Views)
Please use plain text.
Elite Voyager
Elite Voyager
dhn
Posts: 11,737
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: Via 1535 TM - Micro SD Card Questions.

Look on the bottom of the unit (not the back) . See a rectangular section there? Pry that open and the usd card goes there.

-------------------------------------------
I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. .....I am not a TomTom employee.
Message 5 of 33 (5,636 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
MikeV99
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎15-03-2012
Location: US

Re: Via 1535 TM - Micro SD Card Questions.

The SD slot is where the power cord plugs into the TT.

Message 6 of 33 (5,633 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
pfjohns
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎15-03-2012
Location: US

Re: Via 1535 TM - Micro SD Card Questions.

Got it; my thanks to both of you! The USB power cord was covering the hole.

 

I wish there was a dedicated VIA 1535 manual for this sort of thing, rather than the generic VIA one.

Message 7 of 33 (5,614 Views)
Please use plain text.
Elite Voyager
Elite Voyager
dhn
Posts: 11,737
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: Via 1535 TM - Micro SD Card Questions.


MikeV99 wrote:

The SD slot is where the power cord plugs into the TT.


I should stop standing on my head I guess. Thanks for correcting me.......

-------------------------------------------
I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. .....I am not a TomTom employee.
Message 8 of 33 (5,589 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Traveler
SShadow
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎20-04-2012
Location: US

Re: Via 1535 TM - Micro SD Card Questions.

I put an 8Gig micro SD card in there and the first thing it wants to do is format so I said yes. But then I brought to my computer to copy over POI's from old TT and it was full of data. I tried to erase and reinsert but it does the same thing. Anyone PLEASE help I need to get my old POI's and Favorites to new TT.

Message 9 of 33 (5,410 Views)
Please use plain text.
Zsolt
Posts: 20,568
Kudos: 2,304
Solutions: 537
Registered: ‎16-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Via 1535 TM - Micro SD Card Questions.

When the unit formats it, leave it in the unit. It creates a special file system. You have to add POIs and such via the MyTomTom application, Add Community Content menu.


Tip: Help others identify useful content by clicking the kudos thumbs, and by selecting the best answer to your question as the accepted solution


Report map errors (MSR Tool - link)
Actual devices: GO 820 Top Gear Edition, GO 825, Start 60, One XL, GO 600, GO 1000, VIA 120, VIA 135, TomTom Android; Old devices: TomTom WM, GO 530, XL IQ Routes LIVE
How to contact TomTom's Customer Services (link)
TomTom's Customer Services numbers (thx Niall) (link)
How to soft reset your device (link)


I am NOT a TomTom employee, just a user like others.
Message 10 of 33 (5,406 Views)
Please use plain text.