Neophyte Explorer
jlm15z
Accepted Solution

VIA 1405 in Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

I have been able to attach my Via 1405 to my Windows 7 Pro PC by downloading the Windows XP mode from the Microsoft site. I haven't been able to find this posted anywhere else so I have started this topic. I'm no expert so I don't know how to provide detailed instructions. I imagine any VIA-type unit that uses MyTomTom (NOT HOME) and doen't work on Windows 7 64-bit may also be to use this as a work-around.

(I still think it would be better if TomTom provided 64-bit drivers.)

Not all versions of Windows 7 64-bit support XP Mode. (I have Pro).

Message 1 of 10 (1,073 Views)
Please use plain text.
Prominent Wayfarer
BSB

Re: VIA 1405 in Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

Even the lowly win 7 home has compatibility mode for programs to run in XP (or less) mode.

Yours was a relativly new find in the many solutuions to getting things working though.

WELL DONE !

Your cheque is in the post.....

TomTom putting the FUN into DisFUNktional
TT VIA 1535................................. (Under development)

Message 2 of 10 (1,071 Views)
Please use plain text.
Outstanding Wayfarer
Sellador

I'm not sure if this is something specific to the Via 1405, but it's not that TomTom doesn't have 64-bit drivers. The MyTomTom app works fine on my Windows 7 Pro 64-bit computer with my Go 2535M Live. While I wish they'd get the rest of the features done, it runs reliably for the features it does have. It's possible that the Via may take a different driver than the 2535, or there may just be some compatibility issue with another driver or application in your system. These things are the devil to troubleshoot because there are so many variables.

Message 3 of 10 (1,067 Views)
Please use plain text.
Stefan
Kudos: 1,044
Solutions: 222

Don't have any issues running the myTomTom Support Application on Windows 7 Ultimate (64 Bit) edition.