Reply
cpn
Novice Explorer
cpn
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-03-2012
Location: Australia

TomTom Home does not recognise tomtom is connected to computer

I can't seem to get TomTom Home to recognise that my tom tom is connected to the computer. In the computer's device manager, my tom tom is not listed as a Device with Removable Storage, but as a network adapter.

 

I'm running Windows 7.

I've tried:
- resetting the TomTom
- reinstalling the software
- reinstalling the driver
- running in XP compatability mode

 

Becasue the tom tom is appearing as a network adapter under devices manager I can't install the recommended file into the root directory.

 

Suggestions?

Message 1 of 9 (3,072 Views)
Please use plain text.
Zsolt
Posts: 21,446
Kudos: 2,406
Solutions: 554
Registered: ‎16-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: TomTom Home does not recognise tomtom is connected to computer

You will need MyTomTom, not Tomtom HOME.

Tip: Help others identify useful content by clicking the kudos thumbs, and by selecting the best answer to your question as the accepted solution


Report map errors (MSR Tool - link)
Actual devices: GO 820 Top Gear Edition, GO 825, Start 60, One XL, GO 600, GO 1000, VIA 120, VIA 135, TomTom Android; Old devices: TomTom WM, GO 530, XL IQ Routes LIVE
How to contact TomTom's Customer Services (link)
TomTom's Customer Services numbers (thx Niall) (link)
How to soft reset your device (link)


I am NOT a TomTom employee, just a user like others.
Message 2 of 9 (3,070 Views)
Please use plain text.
Bogi
Posts: 894
Kudos: 195
Solutions: 42
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
Location: Germany

Re: TomTom Home does not recognise tomtom is connected to computer


cpn wrote:

 

Becasue the tom tom is appearing as a network adapter under devices manager I can't install the recommended file into the root directory.

 



And even if you are using MyTomTom you will not be able to install anything into the root directory, you can only install items provided by MyTomTom.

_______________________________________________________________________________
See me also on www.pocketnavigation.de
Message 3 of 9 (3,067 Views)
Please use plain text.
Stefan
Posts: 4,949
Kudos: 1,048
Solutions: 222
Registered: ‎06-03-2011

Re: TomTom Home does not recognise tomtom is connected to computer

The myTomTom Support Application can be downloaded from the following website:

 

http://www.tomtom.com/getstarted

Message 4 of 9 (3,058 Views)
Please use plain text.
cpn
Novice Explorer
cpn
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-03-2012
Location: Australia

Re: TomTom Home does not recognise tomtom is connected to computer

Thanks everyone. Now got it up and working :-)

Message 5 of 9 (3,031 Views)
Please use plain text.
New Traveler
lorijon
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎21-01-2014
Location: Australia

Re: TomTom Home does not recognise tomtom is connected to computer

This is a via 280 and I am running vista.
The device manager sees a network controller, explorer does not show the device at all.I have sourced latest driver(tomtom) andd installed latest flash player.
Now on edge of insanity what do I need to do???????????

 

 

 

Message 6 of 9 (1,303 Views)
Please use plain text.
Zsolt
Posts: 21,446
Kudos: 2,406
Solutions: 554
Registered: ‎16-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: TomTom Home does not recognise tomtom is connected to computer

You need MyDrive for the VIA models, not TT HOME. And won't see in Explorer at all.

Tip: Help others identify useful content by clicking the kudos thumbs, and by selecting the best answer to your question as the accepted solution


Report map errors (MSR Tool - link)
Actual devices: GO 820 Top Gear Edition, GO 825, Start 60, One XL, GO 600, GO 1000, VIA 120, VIA 135, TomTom Android; Old devices: TomTom WM, GO 530, XL IQ Routes LIVE
How to contact TomTom's Customer Services (link)
TomTom's Customer Services numbers (thx Niall) (link)
How to soft reset your device (link)


I am NOT a TomTom employee, just a user like others.
Message 7 of 9 (1,298 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
Riho123
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎31-03-2014
Location: United Kingdom

Re: TomTom Home does not recognise tomtom is connected to computer

Hi, I have same problem after Win7 update. My solution was - go: Control panel/Network and Internet/Network connections/Tomtom.

Then mouse right click, options and then "Enable Tomtom connection". After that laptop recognized my TT1000Go again and installed all waiting updates.

Message 8 of 9 (967 Views)
Please use plain text.
New Traveler
Mick99999
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-09-2014
Location: United Kingdom

Re: TomTom Home does not recognise tomtom is connected to computer

I had same problem and tried nearly everything.

I then used another USB cable (I found an old phone one that fitted) and hey presto, connected.

Worth a try.....

Message 9 of 9 (334 Views)
Please use plain text.