Master Traveler
RJF
Accepted Solution

Speed difference between my tomtom and my car

Hi, So I am new to this but I have noticed that there is normally about a 5 mile an hour difference between my speedo and the tomtom via 1000. Say I am doing 60 mph on the speedo....the tomtom says I am doing about 56 mph, why is indicating slower than actual?...any help appreciated!

Message 1 of 21 (5,454 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Explorer
alan605

Re: Speed difference between my tomtom and my car

hi, i just got back from a road trip with my 1435tm...like your post..my tomtom and speedo was off..but not by much..anywhere from 1 to 3 mph off..not enough to bother me. if i were to guess why they are off ??..i would say it's because it takes some time for the satel light signal to bounce back and get read ?.this is just a guess.

Message 2 of 21 (5,450 Views)
Please use plain text.
Lupus1
Topics: 21
Kudos: 1,599
Solutions: 320

Hi,

the difference is caused by your speedo. The speedos all have a certain allowance when being manufactured. As the speedo in every single car will show a slightly different speed there's always an allowance discount when being caught for speeding. The PND is by far more accurate via the GPS signal than your speedo which explains the difference.

Although when accelerating the GPS is a bit behind in getting the new speed but that is really only a bit as there are display latencies and transfer latencies. But you'll see when you've reached your speed that usually the speedo and the PND will show different speeds which is due to the mentioned above allowance and inaccuracy of your speedos.

Regards

Lars.

TT XL•S LIVE IQ Routes Edition (Text-to-Speech)
map/Europe_North 875.3613
TT Start 60
map/Europe 910.4964
TT GO 6000
map/Europe 926.5515

TT Runner Cardio watch

TT Home 2.9.7.3256
MyDrive Connect 3.3.0.1317
MySports Connect 1.3.9
Win8 64bit

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------