Reply
Apprentice Traveler
kenneth46
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎30-03-2012
Location: United Kingdom
Accepted Solution

Saving a route

Can anybody help me with regard to saving  a planned route. I have a Start 25 and I need to plan a route from UK to the Dordogne in France and save it  to use at a later date.  Could I have the answer as simple as possible please, if I was that good at sorting out problems I would not need the Sat nav.  Many thanks

Message 1 of 12 (2,455 Views)
Please use plain text.
Exalted Navigator
StomStom
Posts: 586
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Location: Netherlands

Re: Saving a route

[ Edited ]

Simple: No.

 

None of the My TomTom models can save a route/ itinerary (not even the €400 GO 1005 Camper&Caravan).

 

I was going to suggest you plan the route, find POI's along it and put those in a new category, but from what I read in the pdf the Start has no option to create your own POI categories. Via and GO (and HOME models) do.

 

You could write TT POI's down on paper and program them on the road.

 

sidenote: Strange how the pdf points to HOME instead of MyTT...

 

Edit: just noted Start(HOME) And Start Series(MyTT). So you can add your own POI's

==========================================================================
Via Live 120 Europe (12.071 / v930)

-TIP-: use Search from the boards' index page.

http://discussions.tomtom.com/t5/How-to-use-the-forum/How-to-Contact-support/td-p/292358
Message 2 of 12 (2,445 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Traveler
kenneth46
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎30-03-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Saving a route

Thanks, will give your suggestions a try.  Regards Ken

Message 3 of 12 (2,420 Views)
Please use plain text.
Prominent Wayfarer
richardski
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Saving a route

Hi StomStom,

None of the My TomTom models can save a route/ itinerary

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

That really is a serious limitation in a very expensive bit of hardware.  Most free Nav systems on mobile smart phones can do this!!

 

Richard

 

 

Message 4 of 12 (2,399 Views)
Please use plain text.
Exalted Navigator
StomStom
Posts: 586
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Location: Netherlands

Re: Saving a route

[angrily]:

 

These are cheap units (soft and hard), compared to what we had before. Never mind the investment...

 

I'm actually happy that it came so cheap, because my employer won't pay for it.

 

And since the most expensive models (where one would naturally expect just improvements of what existed before) just offer: "an expensive screen", i'm ok with it.

 

(Via Live 120 -where i was saving for "improved GO 940L"- )

 

:mansad:

==========================================================================
Via Live 120 Europe (12.071 / v930)

-TIP-: use Search from the boards' index page.

http://discussions.tomtom.com/t5/How-to-use-the-forum/How-to-Contact-support/td-p/292358
Message 5 of 12 (2,331 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
JulieF
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎16-07-2012
Location: US

Re: Saving a route

Seriously?!?!?! You can't save a route?

Glad I found this out the first day I brought this home. Back to the store for a Garmin, I guess.

WTF was Tom Tom thinking?

 

Message 6 of 12 (2,154 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Explorer
floris35
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎14-07-2012
Location: Netherlands

Re: Saving a route

maybe a strange idea,but try to set your destination and then add it as a favorite ?

that should do the trick :smileyhappy:

 

Message 7 of 12 (2,125 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Traveler
donpaul
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎21-05-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Saving a route

The route chosen may require a bit of adjustment with vias (waypoints) so these need to be added as favourites as well. Best to check with google  and even viamichelin maps to decide on this.

 

I was amazed that saving a route was not available but its not a deal breaker. I suppose tomtom prefer to calculate the route as needed - I can confirm that the route often changes depending on the time of day, missing little French town centres during rush hours.

Message 8 of 12 (2,074 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Explorer
floris35
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎14-07-2012
Location: Netherlands

Re: Saving a route

That has to do with the fact that tomtom uses iq routes,so when you want the fastest route to your destination it will skip the scenic and slow stuff very often. :smileywink:

Message 9 of 12 (2,054 Views)
Please use plain text.
Exalted Navigator
StomStom
Posts: 586
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Location: Netherlands

Re: Saving a route

TT seems to be discouraging professional drivers to choose for consumer TT's.

Most likely to lower their phone bill.

==========================================================================
Via Live 120 Europe (12.071 / v930)

-TIP-: use Search from the boards' index page.

http://discussions.tomtom.com/t5/How-to-use-the-forum/How-to-Contact-support/td-p/292358
Message 10 of 12 (2,045 Views)
Please use plain text.