Novice Explorer
Landyman

New Go 7000 Caravan & motorhome

I've just returned to the Uk from a 50 day trip to France.  A few days before I left home I did my second update.

However, considering the Tomtom publicity about up-to-date maps, I found the mapping database full of errors.  I've been using GPSrs since 1996 and so expect a few errors.  I've been using a Garmin 2610 with 2008 maps, mainly in the UK and a little in Germany; unfortunately it stopped working at the beginning of the trip and I had planned to compare the two.

But the number of errors - new roads missing, old roads missing and in one case a mile or so with all roads being offset to their true position.

The last caused the 7000 to continually work out a new new route every few seconds.

I can not change the dark blue arrow over a dark red road to a bright yellow (or any car icon).

The POI file for campsites in France never found any campsite and the only POI icons that display on the navigation map are the favourite stars.

Looking for stores like Auchan found none.  So I had to use my hand held Garmin 76CSx to 'Find' an Auchan and then type in the Lat/Long to the 7000.  In fact this was a regular event!

Compared to a Garmin 765T that I had bought as a 2610 replacement and discarded, the 7000 has some good and better functions, but it would appear to be useless at finding places to navigate to.

Knowing exactly where one wants to go to, the 7000 looks like a potentially good product.  But finding unknown places while touring appears to be a weak point.

I also found that options previously set, were changed.  As an example I set the 7000 to avoid motorways.  Then being routed onto a motorway, I later checked and found that the option had been changed.