Reply
Novice Explorer
jkovach
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎17-07-2011
Location: US

TomTom Via 1535 will not Connect (Connecting ...)

- TomTom website recognizes my device "Welcome Mr. Kovach ... TomTom Via 1530/1535" however it will not connect.

 

- MyTomTom software running in taskbar recognized my device which is a TomTom Via 1535, and it says it is up to date, however it will not connect just like the website.

 

Appears to be flash driven since the Flash symbol keeps spinning around in circles without ever connecting to my GPS.

 

What's weird is if I turn off my GPS, both the website and the MyTomTom software will switch to "Not Connected", so this tells me that it is reaching my device through my USB port.  This sounds like a problem on Tom Tom's end.

 

 

 

 

Message 1 of 14 (5,879 Views)
Please use plain text.
Stefan
Posts: 4,930
Kudos: 1,040
Solutions: 222
Registered: ‎06-03-2011

Re: TomTom Via 1535 will not Connect (Connecting ...)

Try to use a differnet internet port in myTomTom

 

  • Right-Click on the myTomTom icon in the system tray;
  • Select 'Settings';
  • Go to the tab 'Connections';
  • Click in the white box with the number 4000;
  • Change this number to 5000;
  • Click on 'Test availability';
  • When a green V sign appears to the right of the box, click on 'Save Settings';
TomTom Latest News - YouTube <> TomTom KeyNote Presentation 2013 - YouTube

Quick Travel Buttons


Navigation System - TomTom GO 500 (2013)
Driving with TomTom ~ Service and Comfort is our secret ~


NavKit

LifeTime Traffic (Smartphone)
LifeTime Maps (Europe)

MyDrive Connect Support Application
TomTom Discussions - User Agreement

Signature originally created by Stefan

Message 2 of 14 (5,862 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
jkovach
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎17-07-2011
Location: US

Re: TomTom Via 1535 will not Connect (Connecting ...)

How long do I wait?

 

I entered 5000 in the box you describe, then I got the green check mark after [Test Availability].

 

If I click on the myTomTom icon with the image of the hands, it says these things in this order:

 

----------------------------------------------------

TomTom Via 1530 / 1535

Connecting ...

----------------------------------------------------

Your navigation device is up-to-date.

----------------------------------------------------

[   ] MyTomTom

[   ] Settings

[   ] Close

----------------------------------------------------

 

Next to the word "Connecting ..."  it looks like a spinning flash logo icon that won't stop spinning.

 

Is this normal?  When will I see a menu item where I can download different things to it?

It's been spinning for 15 minutes already, but it says my maps are up to date, so I must not be waiting for a large map file, right?

 

 

Message 3 of 14 (5,817 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
SledDog
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎18-07-2011
Location: US

Re: TomTom Via 1535 will not Connect (Connecting ...)

The MyTomTom interface is very trashy.  It does not work all that well.  Reboot your computer.  After it comes up, plug in your USb cable and turn the GPS.

Message 4 of 14 (5,790 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
misterdiaz
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: Canada

Re: TomTom Via 1535 will not Connect (Connecting ...)

I'm having the same problem and haven't been able to find an answer.

Message 5 of 14 (4,996 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
misterdiaz
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: Canada

Re: TomTom Via 1535 will not Connect (Connecting ...)

PROBLEM SOLVED. 

 

So... I fixed it.

 

Here's how:

 

http://us.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13146/kw/device%20not%20connecting

 

Mac users click on Mac: continuous requests for administrator credentials

 

The problems was the administrator's login. Essentially you remove the Tomtom interface from the Network panel under System Preference and then you add it again and that's it, MyTomTomSA recongnized my VIA 1535 immediatelly.

Message 6 of 14 (4,997 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
alphastrikefx
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: US

Re: TomTom Via 1535 will not Connect (Connecting ...)

i knda tried what was suggested but i really dont see the examples you guys are giving

right click on the tom tom icon dosn't provide me with that option

and the link you pasted just brings you to simple instructions on how to download tom tom home

can anyone help me get my via connected to my netbook

 

 

Message 7 of 14 (4,990 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
misterdiaz
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: Canada

Re: TomTom Via 1535 will not Connect (Connecting ...)

The VIA 1535 is recognized as a network interface. Look into your Control Panel if you have a netbook running windows. Sorry my post was confusing, it was tailored towards people with a Mac.

Message 8 of 14 (4,984 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
alphastrikefx
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: US

Re: TomTom Via 1535 will not Connect (Connecting ...)

ah that makes sense lol.

i thought i was losing it for a sec.

i did find it in the network settings and disabled it a then re enabled it but tomtom home will not find it im regretting upgrading to this one my little tom tom works perfect i don't know what to do i really really want this to connect to my netbook im running windows 7

Message 9 of 14 (4,982 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
lonnysnook
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: US

Re: TomTom Via 1535 will not Connect (Connecting ...)

WINDOWS 7 GO TO CONTROL PANEL, DEVICES AND PRINTERS. CLICK ON  TOMTOM. PROPERTIES. MINE WAS DISABLED. ENABLED IT. IT CONNECTED AUTOMATICLY.

Message 10 of 14 (3,802 Views)
Please use plain text.