25-02-2012 03:04 PM
I think its quite important that all users of LIVE devices (Sim card embedded) can read it here. It states:
"Only if you give us your permission, your navigation device will continously collect information and send it to TomTom at regular intervals. The information is also stored on your device until you connect it to your PC, then the information is sent to TomTom and deleted from your device. The information includes details that identify the navigation device, your MyTomTom account name and information entered while you were using the navigation device.
TomTom uses this information to be able to deliver LIVE services to you and to improve the HD Traffic service.
Within 20 minutes of switching off your navigation system, TomTom automatically and irreversibly destroys any data that allows identification of you or your device. This, now anonymous, information is used to improve TomTom's products and services, such as maps, reports on Points of Interest and average speeds driven. These products and services are also used by government agencies and businesses.
Using your navigation system, you can join the Mapshare Community or report speed cameras. If you choose to use either of these services, your reports, that include location information, are sent to TomTom and kept together with your MyTomTom account. TomTom then uses your information to improve its maps and speed cameras.
If you no longer allow sharing of information, none of the above information is sent to TomTom and information previously stored on your device is deleted. You won't be able to recieve HD Traffic or mobile speed camera locations, or use any other LIVE services.
TomTom will not give anyone else access to the information collected from your navigation system.
In choosing to provide TomTom with information, you are helping to make driving better, specifically by improving maps, traffic flows and reducing congestion. We appreciate your help.
Note: The length or end date of your service subscription does not change if you do not allow sharing of information.
This navigation system uses a GSM network (the embedded sim card) that contains location information about your navigation system. By law, the network operator may be required to retain this location and other information for law enforcement purposes and TomTom has no influence over this. If you disable information sharing, the mobile network connection is not active and the network operator cannot store location information".
If you think that your information is not being used for the purpose for which you have provided it to TomTom, contact us at http://tomtom.com/support
I'm going to keep my LIVE services active - the HD traffic is the reason I purchased and there's nothing to touch it on the market. It has really helped me out many times.
25-02-2012 03:29 PM
This is the biggest pile of bull**bleep** I have ever heard.
"If you no longer allow sharing of information, none of the above information is sent to TomTom and information previously stored on your device is deleted. You won't be able to recieve HD Traffic or mobile speed camera locations, or use any other LIVE services. "
I payed to use those options, I was nowhere told that in return I had to supply them with my personal info.
25-02-2012 03:34 PM
I'm more than happy to share my information.
What I'd like is an option to answer "yes" once and for all, so that I don't have yet another button to click every single time I fire up my TomTom. I guess the reponse would be that it's better to ensure my consent each and every time, and it would be difficult to manage reinstating the question if anything changed that required fresh consent.
25-02-2012 10:53 PM
On my TomTom GO LIVE 820 I see that it is possible. Under option (settings) Then 3rd screen option ( startup) orso
After choosing how to starup I get the question if TT can use my info everytime without asking.
That might be what you are looking for.
BTW I don't mind that they use my info. I do however mind that they first let me pay for getting the live options and thenafterwards let me know that if my do not allow to let them use my info, I cant use the live options.
They should give that info before someone purchases these options so that ppl can make a choise.
Now the ones who payed for these options are more or less forced to let TT use their info.
29-02-2012 11:37 AM
if you're speaking about the Navcore 11.030 update for the GO LIVE series that won't be available for your device as you've got a NAV2 device. All you'll get is the Navcore 9.400 and to solve the 1008 error having appeared after updating to 9.400 the update to 9.401.
The other update is for the newer NAV3 devices (the NAV3 GO LIVEs are the GO LIVE 8xx/1xxx/2xxx series).
29-02-2012 10:37 PM
just having looked at the update overview again I couldn't find Twitter for this device. As far as I know it isn't available. There'll only be the basic services available.
For more information about the updates being included in the latest update which is all that is available please have a look at the link below and select 9.400 as application.
08-03-2012 10:53 AM